CS371p Fall 2020 Week 7: Darshan Bhatta

Darshan Bhatta
2 min readOct 11, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This week my partner and I made some progress on the allocation lab. We got the basics down in terms of allocating and just need to finish up the allocation portion of the lab. Getting started on this lab was a bit more confusing than the last two because all the code to look and understand in the Allocator.h file.

What’s in your way?

Nothing is in my way at the moment. I just need to practice doing questions on HackerRank to prepare for the exam and get used to the testing environment.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will be continuing working on the project and finishing that up. I will also be studying for the upcoming test by looking over the topic and doing practice problems.

If you read it, what did you think of The Open-Closed Principle?

I thought it was a very interesting read. I agree with the ideas presented in the paper, most importantly the importance of having modular code. Working on any major project with many different parts, having modular code that requires one to only change that module rather than changing it everywhere.

What was your experience of iterator concepts, std::array, and std::vector? (this question will vary, week to week)

From the first time we learned about iterators, I feel like I have gotten a stronger grasp on the idea, and in this project, we had to implement our own custom iterator. With arrays and vectors, I was used to the concept from other programming languages I know in the past, and learning more about it this week made me more comfortable using vectors and arrays.

What made you happy this week?

I was happy this week because I finally got my sleep schedule on track. This summer break and home so much blurred the sense of time for me and caused my sleep schedule to become pretty unhealthy. After finally sticking to a strict sleep scheduler I am now able to easily go to bed at 12 am and wake up at 8 am.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is Quasar, a Vue framework for making web applications easily. I like it a lot because it has many complex components built-in and one can make a fully-fledged site with complex interactions super easily. I recommend it for bootstrapping ideas that do not need to be fully polished out. While using it, I felt like it included any component that you can imagine since it is open-source and required little CSS customizations.

--

--