CS371p Fall 2020 Week 6: Darshan Bhatta

Darshan Bhatta
3 min readOct 4, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This week my partner and I finished up the Voting lab. We mainly added the testing harness which was interesting to do from scratch rather than in the Collatz lab where we had the testing harness done and only needed to provide the test cases.

What’s in your way?

Nothing is in my way at the moment. I feel like I am getting more and more familiar with C++ by working on these projects. Working on the Voting lab where we had to make everything from scratch, helped me a lot in understanding more about the language.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will be working on the new project as well as starting to review material for the upcoming test.

If you read it, what did you think of Why Is Silicon Valley So Awful to Women?

After reading it, I found it shocking that the problem is gender discrimination was that bad. Before reading this paper, I knew that there was a problem in share representation of women in the technology industry but didn’t know how severe the discrimination is. I think we are moving in the right direction in the future as more and more companies are doing something to promote gender equality, but I think the root of the problem is on the people that make up the industry, and fixing it there will be a challenge for sure.

What was your experience of arrays, equal(), and iterators? (this question will vary, week to week)

Prior to the lectures this week, I was not familiar with the equals() method in C++, but I knew about arrays and iterators from Java. Arrays and iterators from Java. The only thing I never thought about was that the initialization of an array size N is O(N), it makes sense but never thought of it like that in the past. Iterators are a super useful way to loop through a complex data structure easily, the only thing I am still not familiar with is actually implementing a custom iterator from scratch.

What made you happy this week?

I was happy this week to finish both the voting lab and my OS lab this week on time as well as having the time to study properly for my exams this week.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick of the week is Google News. Although probably known by most, I never realized how good of a platform it really is to get news based on your interests. It has various categories and the most important one is a for you section. The articles presented to me in the for you section were all of interest for me and helped me stay up to date on information I cared about.

--

--