CS371p Fall 2020 Week 13: Darshan Bhatta

Darshan Bhatta
2 min readNov 21, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This week my partner and I started to make good progress on the Life lab. We are done with two of the hacker rank without any hiccups, so I think we’ll finish this project smoothly.

What’s in your way?

Nothing is in my way at the moment.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will be finishing up the Life lab and look over the notes on certain topics we covered in class, mainly inheritance. After Tuesday, I hope to enjoy this break and relax from school.

If you read it, what did you think of What Happens to Us Does Not Happen to Most of You?

It was an interesting read. Similar to the article we read a few weeks back, it crazy to see that discrimination at this level still occurs in the industry. It just goes to show that no matter the amount of progress, it is hard to change the views of people that think this way. I don’t think there is a good solution to eliminating discrimination, but I hope in the future we won’t hear about it.

What was your experience of inheritance? (this question will vary, week to week)

I think inheritance is one of the best ways to reuse code and make everything very modular. I’ve used inheritance in Java before and from the lectures, the concept is pretty similar but there are some unique things in C++ that I will need to remember such as the syntax and how the default constructor of the parent class is automatically called. I also like how in C++ you can inherit multiple classes as opposed to Java.

What made you happy this week?

I am happy this week to have a lighter load of school work and looking forward to the break next week! It’s crazy to think that the semester is almost over after the break, I feel like it has gone very quickly.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week is Elasticsearch, an open-source NoSQL database that performs well with search and analytics data. They have other tools that help to access this data such as Kibana, a dashboard for Elasticsearch data. I recommend it to anyone that is interested in adding search to their projects/app since it's very easy to get it up and running and the results are amazing.

--

--