CS371p Fall 2020 Week 10: Darshan Bhatta

Darshan Bhatta
2 min readNov 2, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This week I starting working on the Darwin project. At first, it was a lot of information to process but as my partner and I began to piece the information bit by bit, it was a lot less complicated than what I initially thought.

What’s in your way?

We encountered a weird segfault when returning an instance variable from one of our methods. We tried debugging in different ways such as trying Valgrind, but we are still unable to figure it out.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will be continuing working on the project and finishing that up.

If you read it, what did you think of The Interface Segregation Principle?

I thought it was an interesting read. I have been wanting to learn about more different design patterns and reading papers like these has increased my understanding of them. More specifically in this paper, I think the different ways of using interfaces to make a more modular code are a good idea. My main take away was the use of adapters vs inheriting multiple interfaces and how it is deal to only use adapters when you are using the same pattern of multi-inheritance in many places as it creates a potential unnecessary object.

What was your experience of continuing to implement std::vector? (this question will vary, week to week)

I knew how ArrayLists, the Java version of a vector worked internally and I believed that helped my understanding when we were implementing our own vector in class. There were a few things I did not know such as the intricacies when using references to a vector and copying them over, but after seeing an example of implementation in class I think I have a good grasp of it.

What made you happy this week?

I was happy this week because it was a less “hectic” week than normal. Usually, I have at least 1 big thing every week, but this week I did not so I got to relax a bit more.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My pick-of-the-week this week is Chart.js, an open-source library that allows one to add complex and comprehensive charts to your front-end. It is very easy to use, supports responsiveness, and is well documented. It also supports animation, so when you update the data set it animations that transition, which looks super cool. I recommend it to anyone that is trying to add some sort of chart to their website.

--

--