CS371p Fall 2020 Final Entry: Darshan Bhatta

Darshan Bhatta
2 min readDec 5, 2020

--

How well do you think the course conveyed those takeaways?

I think the course did a good job of conveying the takeaways. I think the biggest takeaway I learned was writing clean and modular code as well as testing. Throughout the projects and even in the exams, testing your code was very essential in succeeding.

Were there any other particular takeaways for you?

I think other takeaways were design patterns that we learned through the weekly papers. For example, in the paper titled “The Interface Segregation Principle”, I learned more about the different ways of using interfaces to make a more modular code. My main takeaway from that paper was how it is deal to only use adapters when you are using the same pattern of multi-inheritance in many places as it creates a potential unnecessary object.

How did you feel about two-stage quizzes and tests?

The two-stage quizzes and tests were really helpful because I was able to discuss with my group ideas I haven't thought of before in terms of getting the solution to the quiz questions. Given time to do that in class helped me understand the material in the class more. I haven’t had a class that had collaborative tests before and I think it's an excellent thing to have because many times simply going over the test after the fact doesn’t help too much in comparison to discussing with your group during the test.

How did you feel about cold calling?

This was the first class I had that did cold calling. After going through the process in this class, I think it's really helpful in terms of staying engaged in the class and not zoning off in the lectures. Also, the conversational system during the lectures was much more engaging than simply going over slides.

How did you feel about office hours?

The office hours sessions were helpful. Anytime I was confused on topics we learned in class or troubles with the projects, going to office hours has always helped me.

How did you feel about lab sessions?

Similar to the office hours, the lab sessions were useful as any problem I was facing with the project like weird issues I ran into in the projects with C++, I was able to get resolved and learn from in the sessions. In addition, listening to other people’s problems was useful as I sometimes ran into them later on and was able to solve them because of the lab sessions.

--

--